Conservation Commission


The Norfolk Conservation Commission is an official town commission, appointed by the Board of Selectmen. The commission consists of five members and two alternates who serve three-year terms. Formerly a part of the Inland Wetlands Agency, the Conservation Commission separated from that body in February 2009. Its state-mandated duties include keeping an index of all open publicly or privately owned areas (including wetlands) for the purpose of obtaining information on their proper use; conducting research into the use, and possible use, of land in the municipality; administering gifts made to the municipality for the commission’s purposes, subject to the terms of those gifts; approving, before their submission, state grant-in-aid applications for programs related to the use of open space land for conservation or recreation purposes.

  • Martha Klein, Chair
  • John Anderson
  • Elisabeth B. Borden
  • Shelley E. Harms
  • Mattie Pace
  • Alnasir Pradhan
  • Susannah Wood, Secretary, Alternate

Conservation Commission
PO Box 552
Norfolk CT 06058