NORFOLK BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting –June 6, 2023

MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Ann DeCerbo, Virginia Coleman-Prisco, John DeShazo,

Donna Rubin, Amy Bennett, Janet Byrne

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Jay Whitaker

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Mary Beth Iacobelli, Superintendent, Lauren Valentino, Principal

ADMINISTRATION ABSENT:

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M.

6th Grade Awards Presentation:

The Dot Casey Deloy Computer Award presented by Mrs. Sally Carr Hannafin was given to Harrison Bennett The Frank C. Reilly Creative Writing Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Lorelai DeCerbo The Adele Winn Service Cup Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Nicola Grimaldi The Jean Keiller Memorial Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Reese Groover

Public Comments: None

Correspondence:

The board received invitations from Botelle School for the Appreciation Breakfast on June 15th at 8:15 am and the Celebration of Learning – Art Show and Spring Concert on June 12th at 5:00 pm Board Chair Ann DeCerbo shared correspondence from Christal Preszler the Special Projects and Grants Manager for the Norfolk Foundation/Norfolk Hub about ACES International Education.

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u> J. Byrne to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of May 2, 2023 D. Rubin abstaining <u>MOTION APPROVED.</u>

<u>Superintendent's Report</u>: The superintendent shared her report with the board. The superintendent shared the new custodian contract for board approval.

Motion by J. Byrne seconded by. V. Coleman-Prisco to approve the new custodian 3-year contract.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Principal's Report: The principal shared her report with the board.

<u>Committee Reports:</u> The following committee chairs reported to the board:

Personnel & Negotiations Health and Wellness

PTO

School Safety

New Business:

Budget transfer -

Motion by D. Rubin seconded by. J. DeShazo to approve budget transfer #1

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Grant the Superintendent "The Power to Act" through the summer months and to make whatever transfers are necessary to close out the 2022-2023 Fiscal Year.

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u>. V. Coleman-Prisco -- Grant the Superintendent the "Power to Act" <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED</u>

Executive Session to discuss personnel issues

<u>Motion by</u> V. Coleman-Prisco <u>seconded by</u>. J. DeShazo enter into executive session @ 7:19 p.m. <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED</u>

Motion by J. DeShazo seconded by. D. Rubin to exit executive session @ 7:52 p.m.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Motion by J. DeShazo seconded by. D.Rubin to restart the regular meeting @ 7:52 p.m.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

<u>Motion by</u> A. Bennett <u>seconded by</u>. V. Coleman-Prisco to approve the 2023-2026 Principal's contract. **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.**

<u>Motion by V. Coleman-Prisco seconded by.</u> D. Rubin to approve to adjourn the meeting @ 7:54 <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.</u>

Meeting adjourned @ 7:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lippincott

Kathy Lippincott, Recording Secretary

THESE ARE NOT APPROVED MINUTES SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL AT THE NEXT MEETING.